Escaping the Microwave

The biggest surprise for most who have known me for a long time is my recent peregrination into cooking. Every time I cook something my parents remember a time when helping in the kitchen, I would always follow the microwave directions if at all possible. In college the closest thing I did to cook was warm up grilled cheese on the stove. But one of the many shining influences of my lovely girlfriend was a gradual interest in the edible arts. (Now that I think about it, jealousy of Bryan’s early culinary successes may have had an influence too.)

The real catalyst for me was the George Foreman Grill. I started making sliders on one I inherited and they were awesome. And easy! I still make them almost weekly, always with Hawaiian bread rolls for the buns. I finally upgraded to a big boy grill (thanks Shultz!) for the aforementioned Oscar party I hosted and have many ideas for it’s future use.

Naomi and I, in an effort to cook more often (we eat out quite often,) have decided to try a new dish every week. We shall see if this translates to a weekly food post. This week’s dish was “Easy skillet lasagna.”

You sautee some onions, brown 2 lbs ground meat, add salt, pepper (lots in my case), and oregano, and add 2 cans of tomato sauce and 1.5 cups water. After bringing that to a boil you add spiral egg noodles. After the noodles are cooked through, you mix some Parmesan cheese with a cup of ricotta cheese, and spoon that onto the top in about 4 blobs. Then sprinkle the top with mozzarella and simmer for 5 minutes or so.

It turned out pretty good, and most importantly tasted like lasagna. And no agonizing wait times while your dinner bakes.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

