Mysteries of the Ages

After Naomi and I watched the first two Millennium films in two days, I followed that up with two more Noomi Rapace films in two more days. That’s a lot of Noomi. Then there was Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy to round out a triad of mystery thrillers from different eras. To add further time periods, I also present my thoughts on a World War II set comic and a medieval tale. (Yes, yes. Hedge Knight is not technically historical since it’s not Earth. Work with me here.)

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest: B-: Like the second film, this one focused to much on Lisbeth. Instead of creating a new intense scene, it revisits one from the first film several times, and instead of hunting a serial killer, we get a rather drab courtroom drama and a strange battle with a character whose motivations I never understood.

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows: A-: There was definitely lots of what I liked from the original, but all the world-jaunting and technology-expanding seemed to add gimmick instead of substance. I liked how Moriarty’s abilities mimicked Holmes’ but my favorite aspect from the first, Holmes’ unwavering assurance that the widely believed explanation was incorrect, was sadly downplayed to allow for a bit of humanizing failure. Rapace’s character was almost entirely pointless. Still a fun film, though.

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy: B-: Maybe I’ve been watching too many Ghost Protocols and Bourne Films, but this spy “thriller” needed a bit more confrontation. I’m ok without action, but I need some intense revelations or arguments to qualify a film as “thrilling.” This movie overflowed with great actors though, all of which did a superb job.

Moving Pictures: C-: This comic reminded me of several things. The art reminded me of Persepolis, though the story was nowhere near as poignant. The genre brought up the much better comic Maus and Weisel’s Night, after which a tale of someone’s emotional hardships while attempting to preserve museum paintings hardly seems worthy. It also reminded me this website.

The Hedge Knight: A-: I’d read this some time ago, well before I even knew what Game of Thrones was, and it was pretty good then. Now, it offers a great look at some of the series’ past, woven into an engaging tale. At times it got a bit laborious, explaining lineages and the details of horse barding and tournament rules, but it’s loaded with the twists and unexpected outcomes Martin utilizes so expertly.

This entry was posted in Comics, Movies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mysteries of the Ages

  1. Joachim Boaz says:

    I still laugh at the Rapace casting in Sherlock Holmes — a Swedish woman for a gypsy…. ANY FOREIGN PERSON will DO! hehe….

    I did enjoy the film — maybe even more than the first one… Although, the investigative scenes still need help — one can follow along in the stories but the connections he makes are often utterly ridiculous.

    • twhpoole says:

      I didn’t like it as much as the first, but yeah, Rapace’s casting was definitely an odd choice. It’s like they wrote the character so that they’d have a woman in the movie, but it seems like they should’ve just expanded on McAdams’ character.

      I think Rapace will be a better fit in Prometheus.

Leave a Reply

