Announcing Candidacy

The Oscar nominees are in, and I have a ways to go if I’m to see all the best picture nominees. Apparently, a rule change requires films to receive a certain number of first-place votes to be nominated, so the field is only 10 this year. I guess unless Pixar has a good movie out they aren’t going to put an animated film up for the top prize. Personally, I think Rango was better than both Toy Story 3 and Up (the two animated best picture noms from previous years), but at least this way the animated film category still allows for guessing at the victor.

I’m not doing nearly as well as I did last year as far as seeing the nominees goes. Of the 9 nominees, I have only seen 5. Surprisingly, I’ve missed the two most “mainstream” selections from the list, Hugo and War Horse. Those should be easy to knock out. Amazingly, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Woody Allen film, though I don’t remember actively avoiding them. Perhaps it’s some sort of pent up aggression for Annie Hall beating Star Wars in ’78. (Never mind the fact I wasn’t born yet.) I might see Midnight in Paris, but it’s looking doubtful. I’m really surprised to see Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close since it only has 48% on the ol’ tomatometer. Seems like there were other, more worthy films, like The Iron Lady who could’ve filled that spot, though I suppose it doesn’t much matter since The Artist will almost certainly win.

I’d still like to see The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and maybe Warrior and My Week With Marilyn, to fill in a few Actor and Actress nominees. Melissa McCarthy got a nice nomination for Bridesmaids, though little hope of winning. (Though I didn’t actually see Bridesmaids, my money’s on Streep.) I feel like Ides of March had some great performances that were ignored, especially Paul Giamatti and Phillip Seymour Hoffman.

I’ll post my full predictions once I’ve seen a few more of the candidates.

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Announcing Candidacy

  1. jeremy says:

    I had the same Woody Allen realization a couple years ago. It’s odd how the works of such a prolific and well-known director/writer are mostly unknown to us, and so you look at his long filmography… and it all sounds boring! Haha, perhaps his style of storytelling and subject matter is lost on our demographic, and I’m okay with that. I finally did watch Sleeper after said realization, and found it pretty taxing and forgettable; though, I probably should’ve picked a more seminal work of his.

    Similarly, the list of Best Picture noms don’t seem too exciting either, nor have I seen any besides The Artist. I’ll probably try to see Hugo, Tree of Life, and A Separation eventually.

Leave a Reply

