Films, Coming and Going

I had a pretty good time at the theater this year. I’ve decided on a list of my favorite films (with helpful links to my thoughts on each). A few surprises, and a few obvious choices.

10. Lincoln
9. The Cabin in the Woods
8. Argo
7. Django Unchained
6. The Dark Knight Rises
5. Looper
4. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
3. The Raid: Redemption
2. Skyfall
1. The Avengers

Hopefully next year’s cinematic dishes will be equally delicious. Here are those I’m most looking forward to:

10. Zero Dark Thirty
9. Elysium
8. Oblivion
7. Thor: The Dark World
6. The Wolverine
5. 47 Ronin
4. The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
3. Iron Man 3
2. Star Trek: Into Darkness
1. Pacific Rim

The list is predictably heavy on the comic book/sci-fi franchises. I’m so very glad that those things are tent-pole films now. Elysium and Oblivion are fairly similar, and not enough info is available for either, but I’m still cautiously optimistic. I’m almost certainly over-hyping Pacific Rim, but even with that self-realization I still can’t wait. Some other sequels/reboots have my interest (RED 2, Sin City 2, Man of Steel, Die Hard 5), but said interest is not quite qualified as “piqued”.

This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

