Exploring New Heights

2013-06-08 13.09.22Last Saturday we decided to go on an exploratory trip to the Heights area of Houston. The area teeters on an interesting line between hipster and wary dilapidation.

My favorite find was an antique store with an enormous collection of old books, mostly from the 1800’s. Highlights included entire shelves of Twain and Poe, dozens of huge, ornate Bibles, and a rare three-volume collection of The Count of Monte Christo from 1850. But by far my most tempting finds were several volumes of works illustrated by Gustave Dore. Some time ago, I acquired The Rime of the Ancient Mariner, illustrated by Dore. I’ve admired his engravings since and have been looking for his illustrated volumes of Paradise Lost, Dante’s Inferno, and The Bible. I OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAwould’ve settled for a modern printing, but the store’s collection of his works, well over a century old, is certainly tempting. If the store had a few more first editions I’d be more impressed, but I’m sure I’d also be equally astounded by the asking prices.

The store was filled with other eclectic things, as antique stores are wont to do. I love looking at these things but I can’t imagine who buys them. But then again, my place contains quite a few things most people wouldn’t buy. (Just ask my wife.)

2013-06-08 14.10.032013-06-08 13.15.58OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

