Foodstraveganza

There have been a lot of fun foodenings in the Poole house over the last few months, so here’s a quick grab-bag of some of the more notable examples of our culinary adventures.

2013-05-10 19.19.37

Chicken satay skewers from Red Lion. So good.

We seem to be into a lot of British TV series lately, and that interest in our neighbors across the pond extended to food too. So, Naomi and I tried out the Red Lion Pub, a great British restaurant. They have the English staples, like fish and chips, cottage pie, and bangers and mash, as well as lots of great Indian foods, like beef vindaloo and tikka masala. Huge, delicious portions.

2013-06-11 19.29.27

In other adventures in trying new things, I ventured into the foodstuffs section of Ikea and tried several of their juices; elderflower, lingonberry, and rosehip. The elderflower was my favorite, but it was flavored with some grape juice so I can’t rightly claim to truly know its flavor. I couldn’t even finish the rosehip. Bitter and awful. I can’t seem to remember how the lingonberry tasted, so I guess that points to its what-you’d-expect flavor.

2013-05-11 09.34.09But not everything notable I’ve eaten lately was made in restaurants or stores. I actually made some things too! I know, amazing. I’m always collecting super simple recipes from around the ol’ internet and my favorites so far have been cinnamon waffles, and homemade 2-ingredient ice cream.

To make the cinnamon waffles, you simply get a tube of Pillsbury cinnamon roll dough, and squish it out over a waffle iron, which in my case was waffle stick shaped. Spread the icing an voila, deliciousness. I’m sure you could make the dough like some sort of gourmet, but my brain doesn’t function until at least 10am, so I’m all about the easy breakfast.

Speaking of easy, the 2-ingredient ice cream that isn’t really ice cream is just as simple. You mix 2 cups of heavy cream with 1 can of sweetened condensed milk, and stick that in the freezer overnight. That’s it. It’s creamier than regular ice cream and super-delicious. I suggest adding crumbled candy bars for added awesome. I used Oreos and Crunch bars.

I use my George Foreman Grill to make burgers all the time. It’s a simple burger, just meat, Worcestershire sauce, and a burger rub. I don’t adorn mine with many accoutrements, but Naomi claims that she has discovered the perfect ingredients to accompany my patties in order to create the Ultimate Burger.

2013-07-18 18.58.02She takes a slice of tomato, adds a bit of mozzarella and basting oil with herbs, and bakes that in the oven for 5 minutes. She then puts that on the burger with some avocado and dried cranberries. She pours some of the best ketchup I’ve ever had, made with agave nectar, and sticks all that in a homemade bun from the bakery at HEB.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

